Going Au Natural


I’m just not as young as I used to be. I know it’s difficult to admit but it is true. Being that I’m older doesn’t mean that I am any less un-cool. Okay that’s exactly what it means and my ‘coolness’ factor has sagged and dropped more over the years.

Better than a doctor

When my parents were the age that I am (I turn 35 this year) I thought they were ancient. Of course I was a teenager, so what did I know. I like this age and time in my life. Maturity has finally set in (in most areas of my life), I’m married, a parent, I can still do things that I love, and I’m discovering new things as well. However age has risen up and slapped me in the face to remind me that although I’m still cool (please, let me have this one delusion) I still have to pay the piper. My days of bouncing back are gone.

I write a lot about injury on here because quite frankly, I deal with it a lot. I’m a disabled ‘athlete’. (I put athlete in quotations not because disabled people can’t be athletes, but because I’m taken a great deal of liberty with the definition of that word and it’s application to me.) Because of my physical challenges and the stress of my outdoor endeavors I’ve had to deal with the obstacle of my body not being able to handle what my mind and ambition are willing to toss at it. The fact of the matter is I put more stress on my muscles, joints, tendons, ligaments, bones, etc that do work then most people do because of the fact that I have areas of my body that don’t work.

I’ve left many a climbing gym session sore because my feet failed to maintain purchase on a basic simple hold. Not the good sore that accompanies working out, but the sore that screams “I may not function like normal anymore, you might have done some serious damage”. Hiking leads to inflamed and throbbing knees, hips, and back on a regular basis. This leaves me with only one choice: get extra healing help because quitting just isn’t an option.

Me with a sore back, ok my ideal self with a sore back.

Our bodies were designed to metabolize certain nutrients to not only nourish us but also provide certain other benefits. Foods and herbs have been terrific sources for having medicinal qualities that we often overlook. I’m not saying that if you eat an apple or chomp down some kale for lunch you’re going to be cured overnight, but a steady diet of foods, herbs, and certain supplements will yield results. I know personally since I changed my diet of foods I do not get sick as often as I used to. What we eat certainly affects how we perform and how we feel. If you don’t believe me read many of the articles out there about sugar. Here is a great one about the toxicity of sugar. How we breakdown the foods we ingest and use them may not necessarily help to us to scale Mount Everest, tackle Half-Dome, or complete the PCT, but it will assist is us being able to resist injuries and help keep us going in our favorite endeavors.

These just might be the answer to what ails you

Foods can go a long way, but until they discover the wonder fruit that helps a man swallow his pride and realize that he can’t go as hard as the 20-somethings at his local gym, certain pitfalls can’t be avoided. (I’m not finger pointing or calling anyone out it is a purely hypothetical situation). Below I listed a few resources to give you some insight into foods and herbs that might help you recover faster despite how chronologically challenged you are.

My Top Five Foods/Supplements

*Please note* I am not a member of the medical field, I am simply recommending these foods based upon personal experience and the reading I’ve done.

1. Kale –  Great source of vitamins, and it is an anti-inflammatory foods which is beneficial to those with forms of tendinitis and inflamed joints. (hikers, climbers, paddlers, etc)

2. Blueberry – It’s a super food, what doesn’t it do?

3. Blackberries – Anti-bacterial properties, antiseptic, and anti-inflammatory

4. Pumpkin Seeds – Contain Magnesium in high contents, which is a great mineral that your body needs.

5. Cinnamon – This spice is a wonderful internal infection fighter. Along with a whole host of other benefits like reduction in muscle soreness, and assisting in the healing process.

Online Resources

Natural Foods – http://www.naturalfoodbenefits.com/

Herbs – http://www.herbwisdom.com/

Naturopathic Medicine – http://www.naturopathic.org/

So until next time……Eat Healthy!

Categories: Insight, Outdoor Recreation | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

